If in your company, people in charge of validating the uploads are not the ones in charge of collecting required documents for an application, then this status is made for you.
The operator cannot close applications. They can pre-approve them (They see Pre-approve instead of Close application button) so that a Super Agent, Manager or Administrator can take care of closing an application.

When an operator pre-approves an application, the system status of the application shows as such in the list of applications. 

Did this answer your question?